Food for the Saints – When the Roof Caves In

Well friends, it’s been awhile since I (Lars) have shown the fruits of my labor. Here is the best I can do on the excellent band Fleet Foxes. Enjoy.Honest feedback please.

When the Roof is Caves In

Don’t say you won’t be mine, O mine, when the roof caves in, when the roof caves in

Cause my love it is a sign, when the devil grins, when the devil grins

Don’t say you won’t go to river’s edge, to make it clean, to make it clean

Won’t you fill up your canteen, from the water green, from the water green

But Oh, you never let go of Lady Madonna

So at least you’ve covered sin, for when the roof caves in

Don’t say you won’t make your prayers at night, to the saints above, to the saints above

And to the God who makes them right, is His name love? Is His name love?

Don’t say you won’t travel far and wide, for Adam and Eve, for Adam and Eve

Lose not your joy this tide, in humanity, in humanity.

But Oh, you never let go of Lady Madonna

So at least you’ve covered sin, for when the roof caves in

4 Comments

  1. Lars. The “Fruits of your Labor” are delicious and sweet, although that’s sort of uncomfortable to say. I love the natural reverb piano ( and are those real drums for the first half?). Sounds really nice.

    One thing I would say (not because I am being critical, but because I for one believe that comments like ‘This is great’ and ‘nice’ are uplifting but not ultimately super helpful) is that I noticed that when the Fleet Foxes sing harmonies they are basically screaming them- there’s a lot of power there. The only thing I would add to this is a lot more energy to the background vocals. I had a few awkward moments when my wife returned home to find me screaming falsetto harmonies in the basement-

Leave a Reply

