My Top Ten 2009 Albums

Happy New Year all! We are working on out Police inspired songs to kick off 2010 in style. We’ll start posting our efforts soon. To pass the time, I made a top 10 albums of 2009 list. If you don’t own these albums, they come on high recommendation:

10. Wheat: White Ink, Black Ink. Infectious pop music that is more freely constructed than the preceding album Everyday I Say a Prayer…This is a reminder of why I love Wheat so much.

9. Various Artists: Dark Was the Night. A great double disc compilation of indie superstars and surprise duos. Spoon, Dirty Projectors, Ben Gibbard, Fiest, Grizzly Bear, Arcade Fire and the freakiest Sufjan Stevens effort yet. The Bon Iver offering is worth the price of admission

8. Dirty Projectors: Bitte Orca. Truly the most unique instrumentation I know of. Coupled with unforgettable melodies and quirky lyrics, Bitte Orca was a perfect commentary on the close of a decade.

7. Volcano Choir: Unmap. Bon Iver side project does electronically to illustrate the Northwoods Wisconsin desolation what Bon Iver does acoustically. Endlessly haunting. I dare you to listen to this album and not become twice as productive or twice as tired. Maybe both.

6. The Swell Season: Strict Joy. Frames headman Glen Hansard teams up with Once co-star Marketa Irglova to create an equally beautiful full length effort that becomes a soundtrack in it’s own right, just without a specific subject.

5. Loney, Dear: Dear John. My brother calls him the Swedish Sufjan. I just think it’s thoughtful pop music that makes me feel really good. What more could you want?

4. Mason Jennings: Blood of Man. Mason finally decided to go raw – both musically and lyrically. His most self effacing effort yet is a masterpiece, just don’t put it on the victrolla during the Easter family gathering.

3. MuteMath: Armistice. An excellent sophomore effort from the mainstream Christian rockers. I doesn’t rock as hard as their self-titled debut, but is masterfully produced and stick with you after just one listen.

2. Passion Pit: Manners. Quirky electronica that stratles the line between ironic and iconic.

1. Halloween, Alaska: Champagne Downtown. This was my favorite album of year before I even listen to it, that’s the kind of equity that HA has built up. They have ditched much of the processed synths for guitar licks and thicker percussion. Add to this album the recently released Daytrotter session and Remix album, and HA had quite a year.

What am I missing here?

7 Comments

    • Totally disagree about Blood of Man. The last two albums didn’t make a top ten for me, but this album is special.

      As to Volcano Choir, I understand it’s a concept album but so is Embryonic which made it one a lot of lists this year. Unmap does something for me.

      I guess were not all snobs like you Tim.

Leave a Reply

