What!?!

“It’s a hideous record… It was such a hugely painful mistake that happened in front of hundreds of thousands of people and continues to happen on a grander and grander scale and just won’t go away. It’s like getting really drunk at a party and spilling your guts in front of everyone and feeling incredibly great and cathartic about it, and then waking up the next morning and realizing what a complete fool you made of yourself.” – Rivers Cuomo, Entertainment Weekly, 2001

Does this quote shock anyone else?  As part of this Weezer project I’ve learned that Rivers does not approve of the Pinkerton album.  Sure it received bad reviews, but everyone I know loves it.  Is everyone I know crazy?  Do you think that Rivers maybe listens to the review people too closely?  Spilling your guts makes great music.  I’d love to discuss this topic with him.  Does anyone out there have his phone number or email address?  Music is an extremely emotional thing and the best music comes from those that dig down deep and share what they found.

 

In other news, my song is done except for a harmony part.  This is great because I have a cold and can’t sing worth a lick (sarcasm).  We should be posting those later this week and have a podcast up next week.  Keep Rockin’!

3 Comments

  1. I think this just proves that no matter what you create as an artist if you let other people experience your art there are going to be varying opinions. I too dig Pinkerton, and after listening to Rivers’s interview on NPR i was surprised at his reaction to the album. So that is why I’m impressed by most artists who create and put their art out there.

  2. I love Pinkerton and always have. Although I must admit that I do find some joy in really embracing something that others dislike or cast aside. Maybe in my mind Pinkerton is like my wonderfuls cats I found at the Humane Society. They need love and a home…and I give them both. Now that I typed that I notice that it made more sense in my head…ehhh it’s almost 2:00 am so I’ll use that as my excuse. If anything you’ll learn that I’m crazy about my cats…and Pinkerton.

    Looking forward to hearing your tunes and enjoying your podcast!

Leave a Reply

