Name Change and Why

Maybe this is my own personal Dark Night of the Soul or maybe I’m just getting less hopeful in the world, regardless I am going to change my bands name to “Surrounded by Werewolves”.  Each day I experience something, hear someone, or do something that reinforces the realism of this concept; we are all monsters.  I’m sick of this awareness.  We are all so incredibly selfish and most of us don’t have a clue.  Very few of us truly love first and follow up by acting in accordance to that love.  The common 1st thoughts are, “what about me” or “how does this affect me” or something else me.  It’s rarely “how can I support them” or “how can I show them compassion” etc…

David Bazan’s (Pedro the Lion) lyrics…

Oh, look you earned your wings
Are you an angel, now
Or a vulture
Constantly hovering over
Waiting for a big mistake

I’ve officially change the bands name from “Oh Beloved” to “Surrounded by Werewolves”.  In addition to the hardcore feelings I’ve explained above I also have a passion for Gothic beasts (vampires, werewolves, trolls, etc..) so it’s very fitting.

We are not going to change the blog URL….
-tomato

8 Comments

  1. Tim. When you mentioned this change in an email I thought you were kidding, but I suppose this is how this project works right? We change – find new reasons to create. I hope there is still hope in it all for you. Maybe we are monsters in our nature, but I have to believe that it can all be redeemed – not in a metaphysical way, in a real way – a real world way that changes behavior, context, and most importantly hopelessness. If we hope in our own selves to be the primary agents of change, we are truly ‘surrounded’. But if we hope in something bigger…
    Love you brother.

  2. After our podcast I realized that I didn’t have a good reason for the name “Oh Beloved”. The new name works for me on many levels. I plan on finding hope in the world, its just hard some days. Regardless of the things I’m going through right now the name fits me and it will when I find more hope in the world.

  3. Hi, Tim, read about the name change. Sounds depressing. Habakkuk 3:17 says, 17 Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, 18 yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior.

    There is still joy in the world.

  4. Tim-
    I personally LOVE the name change (and I love wearwolves). I think your frustrations are totally valid and I feel that way a lot. Sometimes in the midst of the “crap” we just have to be real about what is going on and hopefully the people around you can carry the burden for awhile. And I think that it is real feelings like this that can inspire huge change in the world.
    I love your honesty, insite, and passion for change. It is refreshing.
    And I absolutely love you.
    Shari

  5. T, i’m glad that you are angry enough about evil and sin to change your band name. But, I also hope that you cling to the One who is sovereign over it. Remember, death and pain are real. But, they don’t have the final say. Christ’s work ensures that this life is more than a sad joke.

Leave a Reply

